How to Use Reiki Symbols and Their Meanings

In the Reiki practice the healer can make use of the four Reiki Symbols to aid his healing. These symbols are not mandatory but they help with the entire process be more effective.

1st Reiki Symbol – Cho-Ku-Rei – CKR


This is used either to activate the other symbols or it can be used on its own to promote health and well-being around you. You can simply use it without being a Reiki healer. You can take advantage of this if you are not a healer by drawing the symbol anywhere where only you will know about it. Draw Cho Ku Rei under your desk, under your computer or anywhere in your office or home to help your career, health and well-being. Here are a few properties of this 1st Reiki symbol:

  • CKR activates all other symbols.
  • CKR offers protection on all levels.
  • CKR cleanses energies in your home, office, car, etc.
  • CKR helps balancing your life.
  • CKR can be used on food, plants, animals, etc.

2nd Reiki Symbol – Sei Heiki

2nd reiki symbol sei heiki

Sei Heiki is the 2nd Reiki symbol used by Reiki healers. It is known to help people with emotional and mental imbalances. The practiotioner will draw it during the Reiki sessions with his tongue or in mid air or on the body of the patient. But it is important the patient to not see him drawing the symbol.

You don’t have to be a Reiki healer to take advantage of Sei Heiki‘s power. You can use it to get answers for questions you don’t know to answer. Write it down on a piece of paper and below it draw the Reiki Sandwich. Your answer will come to you intuitively.

3rd Reiki Symbol – Hon Sha Ze Sho Nen

3rd reiki symbol hon sha ze sho nen

The 3rd Reiki symbol is used by the healer to perform distand or absent healing. You can also use this to send good vibes in the future or to heal past events. Time and space are irrelevent for the Hon Sha Ze Sho Nen symbol.

To activate Hon-Sha-Ze-Sho-Nen you must first draw and quitely intonate the Cho Ku Rei symbol. Then on top of it you draw the HSZSN symbol and quitely intonate it after which you draw and intonate the Cho Ku Rei symbol once again. Here are a few uses of this powerful Reiki symbol.

  • HSZSN works on channeling Reiki to a person in another country.
  • HSZSN heals the past present and future.
  • HSZSN helps treat patients with burns who cannot be touched or where there is risk of infection through touch.
  • HSZSN works on children while they sleep or rest.

4th Reiki Symbol, The Master Symbol – Dai Ku Myo


Dai Ku Myo is considered the Master symbol because only the Reiki masters will use it. It means great bright light or great shinning light. It activates the energy of Self Empowerement and it works on cellular and genetic levels. The Dai Ku Myo symbol is a symbol that heals the soul. You cannot use this symbol unless you are a Reiki Master Healer.


Inner Healing and How Reiki Works

Reiki is a simple but complete system for promoting health in the body and mind. When applied on the patient, the healer aims at the very source of life to stimulate health in the physical dimensions of the body and mind.

7 Chakras

There are seven chakras in the human body and many spiritual leaders are using these today when refering to the life energies. These life energies are simple on the surface but they are the very basis of life. They are the pillars of life in all living beings. Animals have chakras too.

7 chakras human body names

In Sanskrit language chakra means wheel. The 7 wheels in the human body have the purpose to help the life energies flow properly. When these life energies flow properly, you are attuned to life and you are free of disease and mental or emotional imbalance. Reiki was developed for this type of inner healing. Real healing comes from within. Reiki has cured many diseases along the time and helped a lot of people fulfill their life.

For more information on Reiki Healing check out this Pure Reiki Healing Master Review post. You too can too become a healer of lives. You can use this training to heal yourself, to heal others or to heal animals.